Buster Posey: NL rookie of the year

Willie Mays, Orlando Cepeda, Willie McCovey … and Buster Posey.

Rookies Of The Year_Mart.jpgWhat do those four Giants have in common? They all have statues of them outside of AT&T Park? Not quite. Or at least, not yet.

They were all NL rookies of the year. Oh, and we can throw Gary Matthews and John Montefusco into that group.

Buster Posey became the sixth Giants player to be named NL rookie of the year, beating out Atlanta outfielder Jason Heyward for the honor.

Posey is the fifth San Francisco Giant to be so honored and the first since 1975 when Montefusco won, following other wins by Matthews (1973), McCovey (1959), and Cepeda (1958). Mays won the honor in 1951 with the New York Giants.

Posey earned 20 of 32 first-place votes to tally 129 points. Heyward garnered 9 first-place votes and 107 points.

Three delusional voters decided to cast first-place votes for Cardinals pitcher Jaime Garcia and Marlins first baseman Gaby Sanchez.

Another delusional voter decided to leave Posey completely off his or her ballot. Another still did the same with Heyward. Perhaps MLB can look into revoking some voting privileges.

Trivia time: Since the rookie of the year ballot started including three players in 1980, only one other Giants rookie finished higher than fourth-place in the balloting. Who was that?

Here’s how the voting shook out (on a 5-3-1 scoring system).

Player’s name, NL team




Buster Posey, SF 20 9 2 129
Jason Hayward, Atl 9 20 2 107
Jaime Garcia, StL 1 1 16 24
Gaby Sanchez, Fla 2 1 5 18
Neil Walker, Pit 0 1 0 3
Starlin Castro, Chi 0 0 3 3
Ike Davis, NY 0 0 2 2
Jose Tabata, Pit 0 0 1 1
Jonny Venters, Atl 0 0 1 1

Trivia answer: Robby Thompson was second behind Todd Worrell in 1986.

Here’s a list of other Giants rookies who earned rookie-of-the-year votes since the ballot was extended in 1980:

  • P Al Holland, tied for 7th, 1980
  • OF Chili Davis, 4th, 1982
  • OF Dan Gladden, 4th, 1984
  • 3B Chris Brown, 4th, 1985
  • 1B Will Clark, 5th, 1986
  • 2B Robby Thompson, 2nd, 1986
  • P John Burkett, 4th, 1990
  • P William VanLandingham, 7th, 1994
  • P Ryan Jensen, 6th, 2002
  • P Matt Cain, tied-5th, 2006

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s